Car Accident Attorney Portland Oregon
A car crash is a shocking and terrifying event.
It’s hard to understand until it happens to you: one car accident can change your life in an instant.
An injury from an accident can mean spending thousands of dollars on medical care, missing weeks of work, and falling behind on your bills. There are often big repercussions in the lives of accident victims.
You need to focus on healing: talk to an experienced injury lawyer at 503-229-0895.
Filing a Car Accident Claim in Oregon
Filing an insurance claim for a car accident injury can be complicated.
Oregon drivers are required to have automobile insurance that covers at least $25,000 in injury damages. But it can be very confusing to negotiate with especially because insurance companies try to make you settle your claim as quickly as possible.
Oregon Insurance Requirements
Liability Insurance: Liability insurance covers bodily injury and property damage for an accident for which you are liable, or at-fault. Oregon drivers must have at least $25,000 in insurance coverage for each person, and $50,000 per crash.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP): PIP pays for medical bills, lost wages, and other “reasonable and necessary” expenses related to the car accident, up to 15,000 total per person. PIP can be very useful when you’ve been hurt in a crash, as it kicks in right away.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UM/UIM): Not every driver always has up-to-date coverage. And if you have serious injuries, the minimum liability policy might not cover all of your bills and expenses. If you are in a collision with driver who has insufficient insurance – or no insurance – you can access your own UM/UIM insurance policy. The minimum is $25,000 in insurance coverage for each person, and $50,000 per crash.
Questions about a car accident injury claim? Get a free consultation with Alvey Law Group at 503-229-0895.